Academy annouces medal winners for Student Academy Awards

Winning films will be featured at two upcoming events. On Sunday, June 24, the Palm Springs International ShortFest will screen the Gold Medal-winning films.

Thirteen students from colleges and universities around the world were honored as winners at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards. The medal placements were announced at the awards ceremony this weekend and featured as presenters actors Laura Dern, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Greg Kinnear and Mena Suvari alongside Academy President Tom Sherak at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The winners are:
Gold Medal*: “The Reality Clock,” Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California
Gold Medal: “Eyrie,” David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts
Silver Medal: “The Jockstrap Raiders,” Mark Nelson, University of California, Los Angeles
Bronze Medal: “My Little Friend,” Eric Prah, Ringling College of Art and Design
Gold Medal: “Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment,” Keiko Wright, New York University
Silver Medal: “Dying Green,” Ellen Tripler, American University
Bronze Medal: “Lost Country,” Heather Burky, Art Institute of Jacksonville
Gold Medal: “Under,” Mark Raso, Columbia University
Silver Medal: “Narcocorrido,” Ryan Prows, American Film Institute
Bronze Medal: “Nani,” Justin Tipping, American Film Institute
Foreign Film
Gold Medal: “For Elsie,” David Winstone, University of Westminster, United Kingdom
Silver Medal: “Of Dogs and Horses,” Thomas Stuber, Film Academy Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Bronze Medal: “The Swing of the Coffin Maker,” Elmar Imanov, The International Film School Cologne, Germany

Pictured: Animated film winners David Wolter (left), Eric Prah (center) and Mark Nelson prior to the 39th Annual Student Academy Awards® on Saturday, June 9, in Beverly Hills.
Credit: Richard Harbaugh / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Leave a Reply