John Boyega, Mary J. Blige and Daniel Kaluuya to receive Virtuosos Awards

The Virtuosos Award, an honor created to recognize a select group of talent who have distinguished themselves through breakthrough performances in film this past year.

Angie Wells and Mary J BligeActors Daniel Kaluuya (“Get Out”), Gal Gadot (“Wonder Woman”),  John Boyega (“Detroit”) and  Mary J. Blige (“Mudbound”) are slated to receive SBIF’s Virtuosos Award.

The award presentation, which will be moderated for the eighth year by Dave Karger, will take place February 3, 2018, at the Arlington Theatre during the 33rd edition of the festival, which runs January 31 to February 10, 2018.

“2017 has seen a variety of breakout performances,” stated Roger Durling, Executive Director of SBIFF. “We are thrilled to celebrate this diverse group of actors who have earned their place as some of the most talented individuals working in the industry today.”

Kaluuya gave a star-making performance as the unsuspecting yet resourceful Chris Washington in “Get Out” and bringing to life the enduringly popular comic book character of the same name, Gal Gadot balanced formidable prowess and a genuine sense of hope in her role in this summer’s “Wonder Woman” while in “Detroit,” John Boyega gave a captivating turn as Melvin Dismukes, a security guard who is falsely accused of killing three men on one of the most horrific nights in American history. Rounding off the list, which also included Kumail Nanjiani (“The Big Sick”) is renowned singer/songwriter Mary J. Blige who delivered a powerful and solemn turn as Florence Jackson, a mother struggling to maintain land in 1940s Mississippi in “Mudbound.”

Prior recipients for the award include Dev Patel, Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Ruth Negga, Alicia Vikander, Rosamund Pike, J.K. Simmons, Eddie Redmayne, Quvenzhane Wallis, Rooney Mara, Melissa McCarthy and Gabourey Sidibe.

The festival recently announced that it will honor Judi Dench with the Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film, Willem Dafoe with the Cinema Vanguard Award, and Gary Oldman with the Maltin Modern Master Award, with additional festival honorees to be announced.

Pictured: Angie Wells (makeup artist on Mudbound and Mary J.)  

Leave a Reply