‘Wonder Woman,’ ‘War for the Planet of the Apes’ make Oscar VFX norms category

Nominations for the 90th Oscars will be announced on Tuesday, January 23, 2018.

wonder womanThe Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has narrowed its list of films which will make the nomination list for extraordinary achievements in visual effects for the 90th Academy Awards.

The films are listed below in alphabetical order:

“Alien: Covenant”

“Beauty and the Beast”

“Blade Runner 2049″


‘‘Ghost in the Shell”

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2”

“Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle”

“Justice League”

“Kong: Skull Island”




“Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales”

“The Shape of Water”

“Spider-Man Homecoming”

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi”

“Thor: Ragnarok”

“Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets”

“War for the Planet of the Apes”

“Wonder Woman”

The Academy’s Visual Effects Branch Executive Committee determined the preliminary shortlist and will select the 10 films that will advance to nominations voting later this month.

The 90th Oscars will be held on Sunday, March 4, 2018, at the Dolby Theater at Hollywood & Highland Center  in Hollywood, and will be televised live on the ABC Television Network at 6:30 p.m. ET/ 3:30 p.m. PT. The Oscars also will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

Leave a Reply