Academy elects new Board of Governors

The Academy’s 17 branches are represented by three governors each, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected 2018–19 Board of Governors, who assume their posts as of July 1.

New additions to the board include actor Alfred Molina to the Actors Branch. The Award-winning stage, screen and television actor has appeared in films including “The Da Vinci Code” and “Chocolat.”

Tom Duffield who joins the Designers Branch, Susanne Bier, Directors Branch and Bonnie Arnold who will be joining Short Films and Feature Animation Branch.

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include:
Bernard Telsey, Casting Directors Branch
Daryn Okada, Cinematographers Branch
Rory Kennedy, Documentary Branch
Jim Gianopulos, Executives Branch
Carol Littleton, Film Editors Branch
Lois Burwell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Michael Giacchino, Music Branch
Scott Millan, Sound Branch
John Knoll, Visual Effects Branch
Billy Ray, Writers Branch

Jeffrey Kurland, Costume Designers Branch and Sid Ganis, Public Relations Branch are returning to the Board after a hiatus.
The balloting in the Academy’s Producers Branch produced a tie between candidates Jason Blum and Jennifer Todd, necessitating a runoff election.  Voting will begin Monday, June 18, and end Tuesday, June 19.  The Academy last held a runoff election in 2016 for the Film Editors Branch.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.  The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

Leave a Reply