AAFCA to Honor Lee Daniels

Established in 2003, the African American Film Critics Association is the largest black film critics’ organization in the United States.

Gil Robertson - president of AAFCA

Gil Robertson – president of AAFCA

The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) recently announced the honorees for its annual Special Achievement Awards.

This year’s recipients include directors Lee Daniels (“Empire”), Anthony Hemingway (“Underground”), film critic Mike Phillips, animator Floyd Norman (“Mulan”) and president of Fox Animation Vanessa Morrison.

Lee Daniels is an accomplished television producer and director behind award winning films “Monster’s Ball,” “Precious” and is the creator of “Empire,” which stars Taraji P. Henson.

Anthony Hemingway’s films include the biopic “Red Tails,”  about a group of African-American military pilots who fought in World War II. “Underground,” which he co-produces and directs centers on a group of slaves planning a daring 600-mile escape from a Georgia plantation. The series, which is now is its second season, was a hit series for WGN Network when it debuted earlier this year.

Awards will be handed out Saturday, Jan. 7, 2017, at the California Yacht Club in Marina del Rey, Calif.

“All of our honorees are serious players who are helping to move the industry forward in terms of creating images that are diverse and inclusive,” said Gil Robertson, AAFCA president and co-founder. “They are all cultural visionaries who deserve to be recognized for their roles in advancing projects that have paid off critically and financially and we look forward to celebrating their careers.”

[ At the 7th Annual AAFCA Awards]

The 8th annual AAFCA Awards will take place on Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2017, at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood. Winners will be announced Monday, Dec. 12.

Established in 2003, the AAFCA is the largest black film critics’ organization in the world, representing television, radio, print, and online critics.

Last year’s honorees included CEO of CodeBlack Entertainment Jeff Clanagan, director John Singleton (“Boyz n The Hood”), and athlete LeBron James.

Leave a Reply