‘Moonlight’ Helmer Barry Jenkins To Receive Director Of The Year Accolade

Past recipients include “The Big Short’s” director Adam McKay, Alejandro González Iñárritu (“The Revenant”) and George Miller who directed last year’s “Mad Max: Fury Road.”

Hollywood Foreign Press AssociationThe Santa Barbara International Film Festival announced today that Barry Jenkins will join director Damien Chazelle, Denis Villeneuve, and Kenneth Lonergan as recipients of the 2017 Outstanding Directors of the Year Award.

They will each be celebrated individually for their films “Moonlight,” “La La Land,” “Arrival,” and “Manchester by the Sea” respectively.  The individual honors will be followed by a joint conversation between the directors on their craft and the landscape of modern day filmmaking.

The ceremony will take place on Tuesday, February 7th at the historic Arlington Theater.

“These directors are true visionaries, with a body of work that exemplifies excellence in filmmaking,” said SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling.  “We are thrilled to honor this group for their indelible contributions to cinema.”

The Outstanding Directors of the Year Award is given to directors that push the boundaries of cinema with their innovative approach. They are master storytellers, bringing their vision to life on screen.

Past recipients include Adam McKay (“The Big Short”), Alejandro González Iñárritu (“The Revenant”), George Miller (“Mad Max: Fury Road”), Lenny Abrahamson (“Room”), and Tom McCarthy (“Spotlight”).

The festival previously honored Warren Beatty (“Rules Don’t Apply”) with its Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film and has announced that it will honor Isabelle Huppert (“Elle”) with its Montecito Award, Denzel Washington (“Fences”) with its Maltin Modern Master Award; Ryan Gosling & Emma Stone (“La La Land”) with its Outstanding Performers of the Year Award; Casey Affleck and Michelle Williams (“Manchester by the Sea”) with the Cinema Vanguard Award, and Aaron Taylor Johnson (Nocturnal Animals), Dev Patel (Lion), Janelle Monáe (“Hidden Figures,” “Moonlight”), Mahershala Ali (“Moonlight”), Naomie Harris (“Moonlight”), Ruth Negga (“Loving”), Simon Helberg (“Florence Foster Jenkins”), and Stephen McKinley Henderson (“Fences”), with the Virtuoso Award, and Jeff Bridges (“Hell or High Water”) with the American Riviera Award.

Barry Jenkins’ film “Moonlight” won Best Picture – Drama at the Golden Globes earlier this month (pictured above).

Leave a Reply