Bob Bradley Named 2019 SIGI SCHMID MLS Coach of the Year

Bradley Wins Third COTY After Guiding LAFC To Record-Breaking Season

Bob Bradley (centered) with the LAFC coaching team. Photo by Paul-Michael Ochoa, courtesy LAFC

Bob Bradley (centered) with the LAFC coaching team. Photo by Paul-Michael Ochoa, courtesy LAFC

The first head coach in Club history led LAFC to a record-breaking 2019 regular season, capturing the Supporters’ Shield and the top seed in the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs after setting a new single-season points record (72) and tying the single-season team goals record (85).

This season, Bradley orchestrated a roster that produced the best MLS regular season (21-4-9), with three more wins and two fewer losses than the next closest teams. Under Bradley, Carlos Vela took the Golden Boot crown with a single season scoring record of 34 goals over 31 games, and LAFC allowed the fewest goals of any MLS club this season.

In 2018, Bradley led the Club to the Audi 2018 MLS Cup Playoffs in just its first season, setting a new expansion team points record (57), and matching the records for expansion team goals (70) and away wins (7).

Bradley previously earned MLS coaching honors after leading the Chicago Fire to an MLS Cup-winning season and a U.S. Open Cup title during their inaugural campaign in 1998. He went on to win a second coach of the year award after guiding second-year club Chivas USA to the MLS Cup Playoffs during their 2006 season.

Internationally, Bradley coached the U.S. Men’s National Team from 2006-11, winning the 2007 Concacaf Gold Cup, finishing second in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup, and managing the USMNT to the top of their group in the FIFA 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

With three coach of the year awards, Bradley now joins New England Revolution head coach Bruce Arena with the most in MLS history.

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Coach of the Year Player % Club % Media % Final %
Bob Bradley (LAFC) 53.79% 39.80% 50.58% 48.06%
Domènec Torrent (NYC) 10.69% 23.47% 13.51% 15.89%
Jim Curtin (PHI) 7.59% 19.39% 12.36% 13.11%
Adrian Heath (MIN) 3.45% 8.16% 8.88% 6.83%
Matías Almeyda (SJ) 9.31% 3.06% 7.72% 6.70%
Bruce Arena (NE) 5.86% 5.10% 4.25% 5.07%


MLS Coach of the Year Winners:

2019: Bob Bradley – Los Angeles Football Club
2018: Gerardo “Tata” Martino – Atlanta United
2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny

Leave a Reply