Caribpress attends the 8th Annual AAFCA Awards

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) is a professional association that promotes African American film productions and provides critique of cinema overall.

Held Wednesday, February 8, at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles, celebrities in attendance included host Nischelle Turner, Janelle Monae (Breakout Star Award Recipient), Barry Jenkins (“Moonlight” director) Lee Daniels (Vanguard Award Recipient), John Singleton, Queen Sugar Cast (Dawn Lyen-Gardner, Timon Kyle Durrett, Omar J. Dorsey, Tina Lifford, Dondre Whitfield), Sanaa Lathan (Shots Fired), Alano Miller (“Underground”), DeWanda Wise (“Shots Fired”), director Anthony Hemingway, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Jovan Adepo (“Fences”), Demetrius Shipp Jr. (“All Eyez On Me”), Laz Alonso, Wendy Raquel Robinson (The Game), Aisha Hinds (“Underground”), Misha Green (“Underground” Creator), Salli Richardson-Whitfield, Lou Diamond Phillips, Karen Sharpe, Kat Kramer.

Check out the images below:

Leave a Reply