Cranston, Hathaway, Lawrence snag SAG Awards

Also honored with individual awards were Daniel Day-Lewis, Tommy Lee Jones, Alec Baldwin, Kevin Costner and Tina Fey.

One of the awards season’s premier events, the Screen Actors Guild Awards (SAG) recently held its 19th annual award ceremony at LA’s Shrine Auditorium presenting its coveted Actor statuette for the outstanding motion picture and prime-time television performances of 2012.

A show where the awards are decided exclusively by actors, the two hour event offered few surprises but lots of star power.

Actress Jennifer Lawrence took home her very first SAG award for Female Actor in a Leading Role for her performance in the movie “Silver Linings Playbook” while Bryan Cranston, who has previously been nominated, finally won an accolade for his role in the drama series “Breaking Bad.” A pleasantly surprised Anne Hathaway and third time nominee received her first SAG award in a supporting role for movie “Les Miserables” and took to the stage to thank her mother, manager and cast members.

“I’m just so thrilled,” shrieked Hathaway. “I got my SAG card when I was 14. It felt like the beginning of the world. I have loved every single minute of my life as an actor, and I have been the recipient of so much kindness and support from actors in this room and out of it. Thank you for this award. I want to thank my mother for voting for me — or at least she better have. Thanks, Dad, for being married to an actor and for raising one.  I have to thank my manager of 14 years, Susan Bymel. You are wonderful and wondrous; and we’ve been together longer than The Beatles, and that’s so cool. And I just want to thank my cast, ‘cause I was in two great casts this year, “The Dark Knight Rises” and “Les Miserables.”

With 13 acting awards (five for film and eight for television), honored with individual awards were Daniel Day-Lewis and an absent Tommy Lee Jones for performances in motion pictures.  For performances in television, Alec Baldwin took home his eight SAG award for “30 Rock,”  Tina Fey received her fifth SAG Award for the same show while Claire Danes, Kevin Costner and Julianne Moore  also received accolades.

The award for a motion picture cast performance went this year to “Argo”, while the television drama and comedy ensemble performance award went to “Downton Abbey” and “Modern Family.” The honors for outstanding action performances by a stunt ensemble in film and television were awarded to “Skyfall” and “Game of Thrones.”

In attendance to present accolades and honor their colleagues were celebrity presenters Taye Diggs, Ben Affleck, Alan Arkin, Jessica Chastain, Kerry Washington, Bradley Cooper, Jeff Daniels, Viola Davis, Robert De Niro, Sally Field, John Goodman, Neil Patrick Harris, SAG-AFTRA Co-President Ken Howard, Hugh Jackman and Nicole Kidman.

Alec Baldwin not only introduced and narrated the film tribute to Dick Van Dyke, but also graciously presented Dick Van Dyke with SAG-AFTRA’s highest honor, the 49th Annual Life Achievement Award.  Actress Jessica Chastain (“Zero Dark Thirty”) introduced a filmed “In Memoriam” tribute to members such as Michael Clark Duncan, Larry Hagman who passed away in the last year.

The 19th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards presented by SAG-AFTRA was produced by Jeff Margolis Productions in association with Screen Actors Guild Awards.

 Pictured: Anne Hathaway accepting her award from Justin Timberlak for female actor in a supporting role.


Leave a Reply