Curry dominates to win Foot Locker Three-Point Contest

Defeats Irving and teammate Thompson in final round

BROOKLYN — Best shooter ever?

Stephen Curry just might own that title before it’s all said and done.

The Golden State Warriors All-Star owned the floor at Barclays Center on State Farm All-Star Saturday Night, fighting off one of the most talented fields in the history of the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest to take home the title.

Curry nailed 13 in a row and finished with 27 points in a ridiculous championship round effort to fight off his Splash Bros and fellow All-Star Klay Thompson and Cleveland Cavaliers All-Star Kyrie Irving in the championship round.

Irving, the winner in this competition in 2013, followed up his first round score of 23 points with just 17 in the championship round. Curry went second and cranked it up, putting a ton of pressure on Thompson to best his monster effort, something his backcourt made simply couldn’t do on this night.

How difficult was it to make it through to the final round in this competition? Just ask three of the best shooters in the game.

San Antonio Spurs swingman and defending champion Marco Belinelli, did not make it out of the first round, finishing with 18 points.
Atlanta Hawks All-Star Kyle Korver, the NBA’s leader in 3-point shooting this season, did not make it out of the first round, finishing with 18 points.
Houston Rockets All-Star James Harden, the NBA’s leading scorer, didn’t even make it out of the first round, finishing with 15 points.

2015 Participants:
• Marco Belinelli (Spurs)
• WINNER – Stephen Curry (Warriors)
• James Harden (Rockets)
• Kyrie Irving (Cavaliers)
• Kyle Korver (Hawks)
• Wesley Matthews (Blazers)
• J.J. Redick (Clippers)
• Klay Thompson (Warriors)

Three-Point Contest Year-By-Year Winners
2015 – Stephen Curry, Golden State
2014 – Marco Belinelli, San Antonio
2013 – Kyrie Irving, Cleveland
2012 – Kevin Love, Minnesota
2011 – James Jones, Miami
2010 – Paul Pierce, Boston
2009 – Daequan Cook, Miami
2008 – Jason Kapono, Toronto
2007 – Jason Kapono, Miami Heat
2006 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2005 – Quentin Richardson, Phoenix
2004 – Voshon Lenard, Denver
2003 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2002 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2001 – Ray Allen, Milwaukee
2000 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah
1998 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah
1997 – Steve Kerr, Chicago
1996 – Tim Legler, Washington
1995 – Glen Rice, Miami
1994 – Mark Price, Cleveland
1993 – Mark Price, Cleveland
1992 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
1991 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
1990 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
1989 – Dale Ellis, Seattle
1988 – Larry Bird, Boston
1987 – Larry Bird, Boston
1986 – Larry Bird, Boston

Leave a Reply