David Ayer joins A.M.P.A.S

Ayer accepted the invitation to join the Science and Technology Council of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Jon Bernthal;Brad Pitt;Michael PenaHis credits include the Will Smith “Bright,” “Suicide Squad,” “Fury” “Sabotage,” “End of Watch,” “Street Kings” and “Harsh Times” and he has also written screenplays for several acclaimed features, including “S.W.A.T.,” “Dark Blue,” “Training Day,” “The Fast and the Furious” and “U-571.”

The co-founder of the independent studio Cedar Park Entertainment Ayer became a member of the Academy’s Directors Branch in 2017 and has now officially joined the technological arm of the association.

The Council co-chairs for 2018–2019 are Wendy Aylsworth and Visual Effects Branch governor Craig Barron.

The Council’s 17 other returning members are Academy president John Bailey, Nafees Bin Zafar, Maryann Brandon,Rob Bredow, Annie Chang, Bill Corso, Douglas Greenfield, Rob Hummel, Andrea Kalas, Academy governor John Knoll, Ai-Ling Lee, Beverly Pasterczyk, Cary Phillips, Douglas Roble, Leon Silverman, Academy governor Michael Tronick and Steve Yedlin.

Established in 2003 by the Academy’s Board of Governors, the Science and Technology Council provides a forum for the exchange of information, promotes cooperation among diverse technological interests within the industry, sponsors publications, fosters educational activities, and preserves the history of the science and technology of motion pictures.


Leave a Reply