Director Ava DuVernay to receive Woman of Vision Award

“Women of color are essential to our mission to advance equity and justice for all,” said Teresa C. Younger, President and CEO of the Ms. Foundation.

Ava DuVernay

Ava DuVernay

Today, the Ms. Foundation for Women announced that they will honor Academy Award-nominated director Ava DuVernay  at the 30th annual Gloria Awards: A Salute to Women of Vision.

The event which will be held on Thursday, May 3rd, in New York City will also honor former Editor-in-Chief of Teen Vogue Elaine Welteroth.

The Gloria Awards recognizes leaders who have made an impact on the gender justice movement at the local, state, and national level.

Director Ava DuVernay (“A Wrinkle In Time”)  will receive the Woman of Vision Award, honoring feminist leaders who create positive change, and Welteroth will receive the Marie C. Wilson Award, named after the former CEO and President of the Foundation to recognize young, trailblazing feminists.

“We are thrilled to announce the honorees for the 30th Annual Gloria Awards,” said Teresa C. Younger, President and CEO of the Ms. Foundation.“Women of color are essential to our mission to advance equity and justice for all. It is fitting that this year’s honorees are a group of brilliant Black women whose innovation, leadership, and courage have moved this country closer to a just and inclusive democracy for all genders. Ms. DuVernay is an outspoken advocate whose work showcases strong, positive, and complex characters of color, and has pushed some of our most difficult political conversations into the forefront. As Conde Nast’s youngest-ever editor-in-chief, Ms. Welteroth brought informative, compelling, and inclusive content to women and girls around the country, and amplified the intersection of race and gender in order to advance the conversation of equity.”

In addition to its honorees the Ms. Foundation will honor three leaders who have impacted the women’s movement in unparalleled ways. Monica Simpson of SisterSong, Shannan Reaze of Atlanta Jobs With Justice, and Joanne Smith of Girls for Gender Equity will be recognized for their work in the fields of reproductive justice, economic justice, and women’s safety, respectively.

Since 1973, the Ms. Foundation has invested over $65 million to build grassroots movements fighting for gender equity for women, particularly women of color, around the country. Previous Gloria Awards honorees include former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, the co-chairs of the Women’s March on Washington, fashion icon Diane von Furstenberg, Sheila Nevins of HBO Documentary Films, Suzanne Lerner of Michael Stars, and Jennifer and Peter Buffett on behalf of the NoVo Foundation.

Leave a Reply