Donnie Simpson to host Blacks in Healthcare Awards Gala

The awards gala will honor 15 individuals who have made outstanding contributions to medicine and health.

Donnie SimpsonRadio and television legend Donnie Simpson has been tapped to host the  5th Annual Top Blacks in Healthcare Awards Gala. This celebration of black excellence will take place on Thursday, April 26 in Washington, DC.

The event, which is the brainchild of (BDO) and The George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health will honor 15 individuals who have made outstanding contributions to medicine and health.

“These individuals have reached the highest levels in their careers, despite challenges, and is honored to celebrate their success. Their trailblazing work ensures that everyone has access to quality healthcare,” said Reggie Ware, President and CEO of

Delivering the 2018 keynote address is Dr. William H. Carson, President and CEO of Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization, Inc. (Otsuka), a leading healthcare company developing innovative solutions for patients and care providers. Otsuka’s commitment to innovation in healthcare comes in many forms, with a focus on mental health – reinforced by their recent FDA approval for the first digital medicine – along with an emerging portfolio in digital health, oncology, and renal disease.

Check out the 2018 award recipients below:

  • Keith L. Black, MD; Chair, Department of Neurosurgery; Director, Maxine Dunitz Neurosurgical Institute; Director, Johnnie L. Cochran Jr. Brain Tumor Center; Professor, Neurosurgery Ruth and Lawrence Harvey Chair in Neuroscience, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
  • Otis W. Brawley, MD, MACP; Chief Medical & Scientific Officer and Executive Vice President, American Cancer Society; Professor of Hematology, Oncology, Medicine and Epidemiology, Emory University
  • Doris Browne, MD, MPH; President, National Medical Association
  • William H. Carson, MD; President & Chief Executive Officer, Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization, Inc. (Otsuka)
  • Craig Emmitt Cole, MD; Assistant Professor- Multiple Myeloma and Plasma Cell Dyscrasia Program, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan
  • Julius B. Dixon; Commercial Business Director, Boehringer Ingelheim U.S.
  • Quita Highsmith; Head, Alliance & Advocacy Relations, Genentech
  • Keith Hopps; Director, CNS Marketing, Takeda Pharmaceuticals
  • Doxie Jordan; Vice President, Area Commercial Lead, Novo Nordisk Inc.
  • Conrod Kelly; Executive Director, US Marketing Lead, Diabetes Franchise, Merck
  • LaQuandra S. Nesbitt, MD, MPH; Director, D.C. Department of Health
  • Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH; Director – Breast Oncology Program, Director – International Center for the Study of Breast Cancer Subtypes, Henry Ford Cancer Institute, Henry Ford Health System
  • Coleman K. Obasaju, MD, PhD; Senior Medical Director-Oncology, Eli Lilly and Company
  • Rukeyser S. Thompson, PhD; Global Hair Care Section Head Research & Development (R&D), Procter & Gamble (P&G)
  • Brian Williams, RPh; Head of U.S. Marketing-Cardiovascular Franchise, Novartis Pharmaceuticals

Award recipients will be featured on the website, its Facebook page.

Leave a Reply