First Timers Sweep the SAG Awards

Uzo Aduba, Eddie Redmayne and the comedy-drama “Orange is the New Black” are first time SAG winners.

Two time SAG winner Uzo Aduba

SAG-AFTRA today presented its coveted Actor® statuettes for the outstanding motion picture and primetime television performances of 2014.

The annual ceremony, which was held at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center honored first time nominees Uzo Aduba, Eddie Redmayne with individual awards.

A shocked and surprised Aduba took home the first award of the evening for leading female actor in a comedy category for the comedy-drama “Orange is the New Black,” which is set in a women’s prison. The series also earned another award for outstanding performance by an ensemble in a comedy series.

“My heart literally stopped beating when I heard my name called,” Aduba told Caribpress’ Samantha Ofole-Prince backstage. “It was an incredibly humbling experience.”

Redmayne beat out rivals Steve Carell, Jake Gyllenhaal, Benedict Cumberbatch and Michael Keaton to win the accolade for male actor in a leading role and dedicated his award to those living with Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), the disease Stephen Hawkings, the character he played in “The Theory of Everything” has suffered for most of his life. He also paid tribute to fellow actors David Oyelowo and Bradley Cooper.


Viola Davis won best female actor in a drama series for “How to Get Away With Murder” and graciously thanked the show’s creator and producer for thinking a “sexualised, messy, mysterious woman could be a 49-year-old, dark-skinned, African-American woman who looks like me.” This is Davis’ second Screen Actors Guild award. She previously received an award at the 18th annual Screen Actors Guild for the movie “The Help.”

The award for a motion picture cast performance went to “Birdman”, while Patricia Arquette, Julianne Moore, William H. Macy and J.K. Simmons won statuettes for performances in motion pictures.

Carrie Fisher presented her mother Debbie Reynolds with the union’s highest honor, the 51st Annual Life Achievement Award.  There was also an “In Memoriam” tribute to the members lost in the past year from Ruby Dee to Robin Williams during the two hour live telecast.

Presenters at this annual event included Julia Roberts,Liev Schreiber, Lenny Kravitz, Colin Farrell, Jeff Goldblum, Jared Leto, Lupita Nyong’o and Reese Witherspoon.

Samantha Ofole-Prince is a journalist and movie critic who covers industry-specific news that includes television and film. She can be reached at

Pictured: (top) Uzo Aduba (bottom) Viola Davis (photos by Royalty Image)

Leave a Reply