Kimberly Elise, Paula Patton, Chris Tucker invited to join AMPAS

The actors are some of the members who have been extended invitations to join the preeminent movie-related organization.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) is extending invitations to join the organization to 276 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.

Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2013.

“These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today,” said Academy President Hawk Koch. “Their talent and creativity have captured the imagination of audiences worldwide, and I am proud to welcome each of them to the Academy.”

Other artists invited include actresses Lucy Liu, Jennifer Lopez, Rosario Dawson, writer Reggie Rock Bythewood – (“Notorious,” “Get on the Bus”) and directors Tim Story and Ava DuVernay.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is the world’s preeminent movie-related organization, with a membership of more than 6,000 of the most accomplished men and women working in cinema. In addition to the annual Academy Awards–in which the members vote to select the nominees and winners–Academy presents a diverse year-round slate of public programs, exhibitions and events; provides financial support to a wide range of other movie-related organizations.

Leave a Reply