LA Galaxy 1-0 win over Columbus Crew

The Galaxy continue to ride the waves in the winning column. Franklin’s second half winner secured a win.

CARSON, Calif. – (Wednesday, July 20, 2011) – Sean Franklin 69th minute goal secured a 1-0 win for the Los Angeles Galaxy at home against Columbus Crew Wednesday night.

Franklin’s goal, his first career goal in Major League Soccer, was a gift for the defender who has had a commanding presence in the backline since arriving at the club in 2008.

Just minutes earlier, David Beckham had a 30 yards kick that resulted from a foul by Crew defender Julius James.  Franklin was the recipient of the deflection off the Crew players who then sent a right-foot ball past Crew ‘keeper’ William Hesmer.

With the win, the Galaxy now 13 matches unbeaten in the League and a record of 11-2-9 (win-lose-tie).

The visitors came close to threatening Galaxy goalkeeper Josh Saunders with six shots on goal.  But the home side pressed forward with significant saves and ultimately the win.

Another yellow card booking for David Beckham; He picked up his second in the 84th minute – And might be suspended from league play in the next match against the Vancouver Whitecaps.

The Los Angeles Galaxy and Farmers Insurance announced today a two-year partnership, with Farmers as the official insurance sponsor of the Home Depot Center and official partner with the Los Angeles Galaxy.

To kick off their partnership, Farmers hosted 4,000 fans from throughout Los Angeles to enjoy an evening of soccer fun at the Home Depot Center.  Prior to the Crew vs. Galaxy match, Farmers presented a $10,000 check to the Los Angeles Galaxy Foundation and the Home Deport Center Charitable Foundation for the “Camps for Kids” program.

Next Match, World Soccer Challenge: Sunday, July 24, 2011, Manchester City vs. LA Galaxy at The Home Depot Center (1 p.m. PST).

Next Away Match, MLS: Saturday, July 30, 2011, LA Galaxy vs. Vancouver Whitecaps (4:30 p.m. PST).

Visit for more information.

LA Galaxy:

Josh Saunders; Sean Franklin, A.J. DeLaGarza, Gregg Berhalter, Todd Dunivant; Jovan Kirovski (Michael Stephens 83’), David Beckham, Juninho, Landon Donovan (Captain); Juan Pablo Angel (Bryan Jordan 85’), Miguel Lopez (Mike Magee 69’).

Subs Not Used: Brian Perk, Omar Gonzalez, Hector Jimenez, Jack McBean.

Columbus Crew:

William Hesmer; Sebastian Miranda, Julius James, Chad Marshall (Captain), Josh Gardner (Jeff Cunningham 88’); Eric Gehrig, Robbie Rogers, Eddie Gaven, Emmanuel Ekpo, Bernardo Anor (Justin Meram 75’); Andres Mendoza (Tommy Heinemann 4’).

Subs Not Used: Andy Gruenebaum, Rich Balchan, Kevin Burns, Dejan Rusmir.

Referee: Andrew Chapin

Referee’s Assistants Greg Barkey and Matthew Kreitzer

4th Official: Alejandro Mariscal

Leave a Reply