LA Galaxy Announce 2017 Team Awards

Romain Alessandrini wins 2017 LA Galaxy Player of the Year, presented by Herbalife Nutrition; All award winners for LA Galaxy, Galaxy II and Galaxy Academy announced

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – The LA Galaxy announced today the recipients of the club’s 2017 awards following the conclusion of the team’s 2017 season. Midfielder Romain Alessandrini was named 2017 LA Galaxy Player of the Year, presented by Herbalife Nutrition, in addition to earning Golden Boot honors. Ashley Cole was named LA Galaxy Defender of the year and midfielder Rafael Garcia was named LA Galaxy Humanitarian of the Year.

For LA Galaxy II, midfielder Adrian Vera was named Player of the Year, goalkeeper Eric Lopez earned Defender of the Year honors and defender Josh Turnley was named Los Dos Humanitarian of the Year. Forward Justin Dhillon and midfielder Adrian Vera shared Golden Boot honors.

In the Academy ranks, forward Jorge Hernandez was named the LA Galaxy Academy Player of the Year.


LA Galaxy Player of the Year, presented by Herbalife Nutrition: Romain Alessandrini – Midfielder

Alessandrini finished 2017 one of only four players in MLS to record at least 10 goals and 10 assists on the season. He finished his season with a Galaxy team-high 13 goals and 12 assists, including four game-winning goals and one game-winning assist. He ended the year with 30 appearances and 27 starts for the Galaxy, the third most of any player this year.

LA Galaxy Defender of the Year: Ashley Cole – Defender

In his second year with the Galaxy, Cole became the club’s most consistent defender, making 29 appearances – all starts – during the 2017 MLS Regular Season. In addition to his play along the Galaxy backline, Cole also recorded a goal and two assists on the year. His 29 MLS starts in 2017 led all Galaxy defenders and were tied with Emmanuel Boateng for the team lead among all players this year.

LA Galaxy Humanitarian of the Year: Rafael Garcia – Midfielder

Garcia was an extension of the LA Galaxy Foundation all season, going beyond his commitment to the club and recognizing a larger commitment to the community. Always the first player to volunteer for any community event, Garcia spent countless hours giving back to the community, including working events for Read Across America Celebration, LA Galaxy’s Youth Development Camp, Heal the Bay Beach Cleanup and Special Olympics Young Athletes Festival, among others. He was also an LA Galaxy Special Olympics Unified mentor and guest motivational speaker.

Golden Boot: Romain Alessandrini – Midfielder

In his first season with the Galaxy, the Frenchman tallied 13 goals to lead LA on the year. Forward Giovani dos Santos finished in second with six goals this season.


LA Galaxy II Player of the Year: Adrian Vera – Midfielder

Vera led Los Dos in appearances and minutes this season, recording six goals and two assists on the year, tying as the team’s leading scorer. Vera established himself as an important piece of LA Galaxy II’s strategy throughout the campaign, building on the seven appearances he made in the 2016 season.

LA Galaxy II Defender of the Year: Eric Lopez – Goalkeeper

In 2016, Lopez made one appearance: he subbed on for an injured Bennett Sneddon to make his professional debut. This season, Lopez worked himself into the goalkeeper rotation to make 12 appearances across the campaign. He earned his first professional shutout this season in a road win against RGVFC at the age of 18.

LA Galaxy II Humanitarian of the Year: Josh Turnley – Defender


Struggling with injuries in his second season with the club, Josh Turnley stepped up off the pitch, spending numerous hours helping LA Galaxy Foundation in their community efforts. He volunteered and made appearances at several Foundation events, including Shoes That Fit, Community Clinic with United Heroes League at March Air Reserve Base, Special Olympics Young Athletes Festival and the LA Galaxy II Pediatric Cancer Night with the Jessie Rees Foundation.


Golden Boot: Justin Dhillon – Forward, Adrian Vera – Midfielder


Dhillon and Vera split the Golden Boot Award with six goals each. The year marked Dhillon’s first campaign, as he joined Los Dos ahead of the year after four seasons at Cal Poly. Vera, who signed with LA Galaxy II in 2015, scored six goals after setting a career high for appearances in a season.


Player of the Year: Jorge Hernandez – Forward


Hernandez, 16, impressed enough across the organization to earn multiple call-ups to LA Galaxy II this season. He made 13 appearances for Los Dos in 2017, collecting more caps than any other LA Galaxy Academy member this season and all-time. He also excelled in the Academy ranks, helping lead the LA Galaxy Academy U-17/18s to the championship match of the USSDA Playoffs. In July, he was named the U.S. Soccer Development Academy Western Conference Player of the Year for his age division.


LA Galaxy Team Award Winners
Year Player of the Year, Presented by Herbalife Nutrition Defensive Player of the Year Golden Boot Humanitarian of the Year
1996 Eduardo Hurtado Jorge Campos Eduardo Hurtado
1997 Mauricio Cienfuegos Robin Fraser Welton
1998 Cobi Jones Robin Fraser Cobi Jones
1999 Kevin Hartman Robin Fraser Cobi Jones
2000 Simon Elliott Danny Califf Cobi Jones Marvin Quijano
2001 Ezra Hendrickson Greg Vanney Cobi Jones Mauricio Cienfuegos
2002 Carlos Ruiz Alexi Lalas Carlos Ruiz Mauricio Cienfuegos
2003 Kevin Hartman Danny Califf Carlos Ruiz Cobi Jones
2004 Kevin Hartman Tyrone Marshall Carlos Ruiz Galaxy Team
2005 Herculez Gomez Tyrone Marshall Landon Donovan Kevin Hartman
2006 Landon Donovan Chris Albright Landon Donovan Cobi Jones
2007 Chris Klein Ty Harden Landon Donovan Landon Donovan
2008 Landon Donovan Sean Franklin Landon Donovan Landon Donovan
2009 Landon Donovan Donovan Ricketts Landon Donovan Todd Dunivant
2010 Edson Buddle Omar Gonzalez Edson Buddle Edson Buddle
2011 Landon Donovan Omar Gonzalez Landon Donovan Sean Franklin
2012 Robbie Keane A.J. DeLaGarza Robbie Keane Landon Donovan
2013 Robbie Keane Omar Gonzalez Robbie Keane Sean Franklin
2014 Robbie Keane A.J. DeLaGarza Robbie Keane A.J. DeLaGarza
2015 Robbie Keane Leonardo Robbie Keane Todd Dunivant
2016 Giovani dos Santos Jelle Van Damme Giovani dos Santos Gyasi Zardes
2017 Romain Alessandrini Ashley Cole Romain Alessandrini Rafael Garcia


LA Galaxy II Team Award Winners
Year Player of the Year Defensive Player of the Year Golden Boot Humanitarian of the Year
2014 Andre Auras Daniel Steres Chandler Hoffman
2015 Jack McBean Daniel Steres Ariel Lassiter
2016 Jack McBean Clement Diop Jack McBean Lee Nishanian
2017 Adrian Vera Eric Lopez Adrian Vera, Justin Dhillon Josh Turnley


Year LA Galaxy Academy Player of the Year
2014 Jaime Villarreal
2015 Adrian Vera
2016 Ethan Zubak
2017  Jorge Hernandez


LA Galaxy Season Ticket Memberships for the 2018 Major League Soccer season are now available. Season Ticket Members and Galaxy fans can go to to secure their 2018 LA Galaxy Season Ticket Memberships, beginning as low as just $323 per seat ($17 per match). Fans can also call 1.877.3GALAXY (342.5299) and press 1 when prompted to secure Season Ticket Memberships.

Leave a Reply