MLS names finalists for end-of-season awards

Three Galaxy Players made the cut for the MLS year-end awards: Edson Buddle, Omar Gonzalez and Donovan Ricketts.

NEW YORK – Major League Soccer announced the finalists for its 2010 year-end awards on Wednesday. Winners for each award will be revealed in the coming weeks.

The finalists earned the most votes in polling of MLS players, general managers, coaches, referees and members of the media.

And the nominees are …

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

  • Kevin Hartman (FC Dallas)
  • Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy)
  • Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Fair Play Finalists – Individual

  • C.J. Brown (Chicago Fire)
  • Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union)
  • Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

  • Chris Albright (New York Red Bulls)
  • Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes)
  • Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists

  • Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)
  • Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)
  • Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Finalists

  • Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo)
  • Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards)
  • Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)

adidas Referee of the Year Finalists

  • Mark Geiger
  • Kevin Stott
  • Baldomero Toledo

Rookie of the Year Finalists

  • Danny Mwanga (Philadelphia Union)
  • Andy Najar (D.C. United)
  • Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Coach of the Year Finalists

  • Hans Backe (New York Red Bulls)
  • Schellas Hyndman (FC Dallas)
  • Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

  • Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)
  • Joel Lindpere (New York Red Bulls)
  • Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists

  • Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy)
  • David Ferreira (FC Dallas)
  • Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Awards Announcements Schedule:

Schedule subject to change

November 3: Rookie of the Year, Fair Play Individual & Team of the Year, and Goalkeeper of the Year

November 5: Visa Defender and adidas Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year

November 8: MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year

November 10: Newcomer and Comeback Player of the Year

November 11: MLS Coach of the Year

November 15: 2010 MLS Best XI

November 17: AT&T Goal of the Year and NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year

November 19: Volkswagen MVP & Commissioner’s Award

Leave a Reply