A Golden Moment for the Spaniards

The Spaniards win 1-nil over the Neds. Spain is on top of the football world for the first time.

Spain is FIFA World Cup 2010 Winner

Spain is FIFA World Cup 2010 Winner

What started out a month ago on June 11th with 32 nations and a total of 64 games, culminated on July 11 with one Nation, the Spaniards, standing tall holding the World’s most coveted 18-carat gold Nike Victory, the 2010 FIFA World Cup Trophy.   And as the winner, they were awarded a $30 million purse, while the Dutch as second place got $24 million.

The final match between the Netherlands and Spain lasted 120 minutes of tough challenges that ended with a one goal scored in the 116th minutes by Spain’s #6, midfielder Andres Iniesta.

The Dutch team failed to make a come-back within the last 14 minutes of extra time and had to settle for 2nd place silver medalist. The Dutch got a few good looks at Spain goal but could not close out their opportunities.

The game ended with 14 yellow cards being issued, 8 goes to the Dutch and 5 to the Spaniards. The Dutch #3 defender John Heitinga was ejected after receiving a red card, leaving his team with 10 men to play the rest of the game. The only goal by Spain came after he left the pitch.

The Germans, who had a very impressive performance, had to settle for 3rd spot after beating Uruguay, 3:2. The German top player, Thomas Mueller, had to sit out the semi-finals with Spain after receiving a red card during the quarter-finals match against Argentina. The 20 years old German striker Mueller was awarded the Best Young Player and Golden Boot at the end of the FIFA 2010 competition.

Before the grand finale match between Spaniards and the Dutch, former South African President Mr. Nelson “Madiba” Mandela accompanied by his wife, Graca Michel, made a grand entrance on the soccer field in a golf cart buggy. They received a standing ovation from the loud colorful diverse cheering soccer fans with the newly accustom raucous sound of Vuvuzelas filled the stadium air.

Present at the finale were an A-List of international stars, presidents, sports people, actors and other renowned personalities including international model British-Jamaican Naomi Campbell, Archbishop Tutu, former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan, former World Player of the Year George Weah, Roger Milla, Marcel and Lucas Radebe , just to name a few.

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela also known as Madiba became the first black president of once a divided nation which was previously governed by an apartheid regime Government.  During his reign from May 10, 1994 to June 14, 1999, Mr. Mandela had secured a spot for South Africa to host the 2010 FIFA World Cup, the first time in FIFA history, the competition was held on the African soil.

The next FIFA World Cup will be held in Brazil scheduled for 2014.

Leave a Reply