U.S. MNT face Panama, Haiti and Honduras/French Guiana Playoff Winner in Group A of 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup

Group A Matches Set for Frisco, Foxborough and Kansas City; USA Opens Group Play on July 7 against Honduras/French Guiana at Toyota Stadium

CHICAGO- The U.S. Men’s National Team will begin its title defense and open Group A action of the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup against the winner of the Honduras/French Guiana playoff on Tuesday, July 7, at 9:30 p.m. ET, at Toyota Park in Frisco, Texas.

The winner of the two-game playoff between Honduras and French Guiana will be determined after the two teams face each other on March 25 and 29.

Following the tournament’s opening match on July 7, the U.S. will go on to play Haiti on Friday, July 10, at 8:30 p.m. ET at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts. Three days later, it will wrap up group play against Panama on Monday, July 13, at 8:30 p.m. CT at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kansas.

As defending champion from the 2013 event, a win this summer would guarantee the United States as the CONCACAF representative in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia. Otherwise, the U.S. would face the 2015 winner in a playoff. The format and schedule will be announced in the future.

U.S. MNT’s 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Schedule

Time (Local/ET)

July 7
Honduras/French Guiana
8:30 p.m./9:30 p.m.
Toyota Stadium; Frisco, Texas

July 10
8:30 p.m.
Gillette Stadium; Foxborough, Mass.

July 13
8:30 p.m./9:30 p.m.
Sporting Park; Kansas City, Kan.

Full 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Schedule

A total of 13 North American cities will host matches throughout the event – Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix, and Toronto.

If the U.S. advances out of the group stage in first or second place, its quarterfinal match would take place on Saturday, July 18, at either 5 or 8 p.m. ET, at M&T Bank Field in Baltimore, Maryland. A third-place finish would see the United States at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, on Sunday, July 19, at 4:30 p.m. ET. The semifinals and final will be held in Philadelphia, with the semifinals taking place on Saturday, July 25, at 6 and 9 p.m. ET at PPL Park, and the Gold Cup Final on Sunday, July 26, at 7:30 p.m. ET at Lincoln Financial Field.

The 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup will run from July 7-26, with the 12 participating nations divided into three groups. Group B consists of Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador and Jamaica, while Group C is made up of Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago. The top two teams from each group advance to the quarterfinals, along with the two of the three third-place finishers.

Leave a Reply