The Countdown to the 50th Image Awards begins

The award celebrates a milestone with a celebration which airs March 30 on TV One.

The NAACP Image AwardsIn just a few hours, the 50th NAACP Image Awards will be held at Hollywood’s Dolby Theater.

Home to the annual Oscars, this is the first time the Image Awards, which celebrates the accomplishment of people of color, will be held at this prestigious theater. Honoring the year’s best work in the fields of television, music, literature and film, the event, which was created in 1967 at the height of the civil rights movement by NAACP’s Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch, will also present accolades to individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors.

A multi-cultural show and one of the most respected events of its kind, the NAACP Image Awards, which recognizes  minorities in entertainment, is well attended by many of the top names in the entertainment industry and has grown into a big event.

Scheduled to host this year’s show for the sixth time is actor and comedian Anthony Anderson who is also nominated for an outstanding actor award for his starring role in the ABC comedy “black-ish.” Slated to present awards are Cynthia Erivo, Danai Gurira, Issa Rae, John Legend, Mike Epps, Ron Stallworth, Stephan James,  Vin Diesel,  Winston Duke, Amandla Stenberg, Malinda Williams, Mike Colter, Thandie Newton, Tika Sumpter, and Trevor Noah.

“Black Panther” is one of several box office hits with several nominations (14 nominations), “If Beale Street Could Talk” follows closely with 9 nominations. Adding to the show’s intrigue this year are tighter-than-usual races, including a tight race for the best supporting actress accolade which sees Oscar Winning actress Regina King, who has dominated the awards circuit this season competing alongside Danai Gurira, Letitia Wright, Regina Hall and Lupita Nyong’o. King is also up for entertainer of the year.

Shawn “JAY-Z” Carter is tapped to receive the prestigious President’s Award. Previous recipients of this accolade include Jesse Jackson, Condoleezza Rice, and Muhammad Ali. NAACP President Derrick Johnson will present the award to Carter. As previously announced, Congresswoman Maxine Waters will be honored with the NAACP Chairman’s Award and radio legend Tom Joyner will receive the Vanguard Award.

Leave a Reply